January 9th Resolutions

As we usher in another year I have a few resolutions that I want to make.  People, including myself, make resolutions every year and if these people are anything like me, they are washed up by the first of February.  Actually, if you are like me, they probably never pull away from the gate, lingering in the jetway trying to decide whether or not to get on the plane.  It’s with this in mind that I’ve decided to share my resolutions with my tens of readers, in order to establish some accountability and hope to be held to these new, higher standards of living.  If they Mayans are correct and this is, in fact, the last year of existence, I want to make sure go out on the best note possible.

RESOLUTION 1: Lose 30 lbs

I don’t like to just throw a figure out there like this, because I’m not sure its the healthiest approach to weight loss and healthy eating.  The be frank, I don’t care so much about the weight as I do feeling good, living well, and being healthy for my family.  My wife and kids are the best things in my life and while I don’t think I live a terrible lifestyle (big improvements were made last year, diet and exercise wise) I have a lot of room to improve.

To help in the achievement of this goal, I have laid out a plan to exercise 4 days a week.  This begins today, Monday the 9th.  You may already be wondering why my resolutions are starting on January 9th rather than the new year.  I had to go to Austin last week for four days and I knew that, as I alluded to earlier, that I would have lasted for 3 days if I employed this strategy.  You see I was there for my company’s annual sales meeting and I knew it would be four days of great meals.  We ate at a couple of really good places, about which I may blog later.

This is part of my issue.  I love to eat.  Most of you may consider my nutritional acumen to be on par with that of your typical John Belushi or Chris Farley and frankly, a year ago I fit in perfectly well with the locals of Central Wisconsin.  This has got to change.  So while I haven’t created a true diet plan, I figure a change from fatty meats and melted cheeses to, well, anything else, should do me well.  This coupled with the renewed interest in exercise should get me back on track.

When I go to the gym today, I plan to step on the scale and share the results with you.  I’m still debating whether or not I should share a “before” picture.  You know what?  I’ll take the picture for future reference.  If you really want to see it, please comment on the blog (I’d like to hear what you think anyway.  I might not CARE what you think, but I’d like to hear it) and maybe I’ll put it up there.  Maybe a talent scout for “before” models will find it and like what they see.  Anyway, I’m going to share this information with you and each week I’ll conduct a weigh in and share how the week has gone, both from a diet and exercise perspective.

Resolution 2: Appreciate More, Do More, Give More

I don’t think I give enough appreciation for all that I have.  My family and I are tremendously blessed with a great many things.  We don’t want for anything (when it really comes down to it), we are in great health, happy relationships, and we just enjoy our time together.  I don’t articulate this enough, and I need to start appreciating what’s in front of me; what is being done for me and what I have in my life.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate what others do for me, but maybe not enough.  My parents, my in-laws, my wife, my kids; everything.  I don’t know that I say or show it enough, and I am resolving to do that.  We have such a great life that I often take for granted and it’s taken seeing some people fall on harder times to understand how much we have to be thankful for.  I am resolving to no longer take for granted the life I have.  Work hard, live right, appreciate the hell out things.  To all my friends and family; thank you for everything this past year.  (Resolution 2: Check.  Glad to have that one out of the way.)

After reflecting on this past Christmas season and realizing how lucky I am, I’m almost ashamed at how little I give in the community.  As part of my resolutions for this year, I resolve to do more for others.  I’m hoping this comes in many forms.  While we don’t “want” for much, I also don’t feel we are in a place financially to give tons of money.  I think we should give more than we do, but ultimately, I’m still trying to build enough savings to buy a future home, which is something I desperately want to give to my wife and kids.  But I know that I can give more of my time and energy and I hope to do so.

I have one volunteer opportunity in the works already and hopefully there will be opportunities to do more.  It’s tough right now, though.  I have to travel for work more than previously anticipated and my free time still needs to be devoted to being a husband and father.  I may blog about this in the future, but for now it will likely be something that I keep to myself, as how I give and what I plan to do for those in need may be a personal thing.  What I’ll let you know, however, is if I’m following through.

Resolution 3: Write More

I like writing this blog, but I have trouble finding time and, really, topics to write about.  I don’t want to just write about nothing, or things that aren’t interesting.  There is a part of this that I find therapeutic and simply relaxing, but I don’t like to just run in place.  I want to go somewhere and when I do something I want it to have meaning.  Not just for me, but for you tens of readers out there.  So please, let me know if what you read is interesting.  Let me know if you’d like me to write about anything specific.

In order to keep the content flowing, I’m considering creating more of a format for this blog.  Doing regular types of posts on regular days that will give me, even with nothing particular to write about, a framework within which to work.  If you stick with the blog as a reader, you will probably hear a lot about the Reds; probably once a week.  You will also probably get a few short snippets from my Twitter feed.  Since most of you don’t follow me there, I may give you a “best of” from the week.  Not that I think my Tweets are brilliant, but looking back on them, they could offer sort of a scrolling news reel of my week’s thoughts.  Might be interesting.

Ultimately, I’d like to post 3 days a week, at the minimum.  So again, this is the accountability thing.  I want you to keep me honest.  If I don’t post something for a while, call me on it.  If there is something you would like to hear about; I’m happy to get an idea for the blog.  May not be well informed, might not be very long, but it’s likely to be misinformed and poorly written; so there’s that.

Happy New Year everyone.  I hope you all had a happy holiday season, whatever it is you celebrate and that the New Year brings you what you want, which I assume is a slimmer, more philanthropic Josh Francis who writes more.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

